Pickle’s Graveyard

My grandmother called this hamburger-rice casserole.  However, my mom always served it with pickles.  My brothers and I buried our pickles in the casserole, thus the new name.

  • 2 pounds hamburger
  • 1-1/2 cups dry rice
  • mushrooms, optional
  • sauce

Cook rice (3 C water to 1-1/2 c rice).  While rice is cooking, brown the hamburger.  When both are cooked, stir together.  My mom used a couple cans of cream-of-mushroom soup for the sauce, however I make a dairy-free version by thickening beef broth for the sauce.

Serve with pickle wedges.

Your feedback is welcome...

